Board of Directors

Davit Khachaturyan (Chair)
Board member since 2016
Davit Khachaturyan received his doctorate in law in 2000, from Yerevan State University where he currently teaches European Convention on Human Rights and Lawyering Skills to Master Program students. Davit worked for almost 8 years at the U.S. Embassy in Armenia, at the U.S. Department of Justice, as a Legal Specialist (2006-2013), UNDP South Caucasus Anti-Drug Project, as a Legal Consultant (2003-2006), Court of Cassation of Armenia, as a Senior Legal Advisor (2000-2005), and for one year at the Armenian Academy of Justice (2014), as a Vice-Rector. He currently is involved in various programs of the Council of Europe and European Union as an expert on rule of law, judiciary and human rights, primary focusing to help bring Armenian human rights norms and laws in line with universal standards of human rights protection. He is an author of several legal monographs, almost three dozens of articles, and guidelines on the challenges of judicial and legal reform in Armenia, often with a particular focus on judicial independence, criminal law, freedom of information, and human rights under the European Convention and other instruments.

Artak Kyurumyan – Board member since 2017
Artak Kyurumyan is an independent researcher and consultant with experience in international development, public policy and administration. He has worked for the Ministry of Finance of Armenia. As an independent consultant he worked in the World Bank, European Union, USAID, DFID funded projects on implementation of medium term expenditure framework, programme budgeting, public debt maangement, etc. He got Master in Engineering degree from the American University of Armenia and an MBA from Tulane University.

Ruben Babayan - Board member since 2016
Ruben Babayan is the General Director of Yerevan State Puppet Theatre after H. Toumanyan since 1998. Since 1995 he is a lecturer in “Yerevan State Institute of Theatre and Cinematography” NCSO and since 2003 he is working as a head of the chair of acting technique (direction and class supervisor). In 2006 Mr. Babayan established National Theatrical Constructive Organization and in 2008 he established “Theatre X” festival. Mr. Babayan staged many performances in Armenia and abroad. Mr. Ruben Babayan is a professor and Honored Artist of the Republic of Armenia. He participated almost in fifty international festivals from India to USA and is a recipient of numerous awards, prizes and diplomas.

Vahram Soghomonyan – Board member since 2016
Vahram Soghomonyan is an Armenian political scientist from Yerevan-based think-tank Political Discourse (, which was founded in 2013 by a group of Armenian social scientists and representatives of civic groups. He studied German Language at the Yerevan State University. From 2002 until 2006 he worked at the Philipps University of Marburg as a member of the “European Integration” research group. His studies are focused on South Caucasus and European integration, changes in the system of values in Armenia and the Karabakh issue. Since 2010 he has been actively involved in civic initiatives in Armenia (including Mashtots Park Movement). Vahram Soghomonyan is a member of Civic Educational Initiative.

Inga Zarafyan – Board member since 2014
President of “EcoLur” Informational NGO, PhD in biophysics, author of the documentaries on environmental and social problems, head of Informational Analytical Center of National Academy of Science RA, member of Anticorruption Center (Transparency International), the author of the publications on environment problems (in 1995-till now) the author of 25 scientific publications in biophysics (in 1977-1987), the author of the documentaries about environmental and social problems in Armenia.